top of page

“at once rough and evocative, affecting and modern, gritty and perfectly classic.”

— American Songwriter


"Thompson is an enthralling singer and hearty lyricist with a timeless folk sound.

 Fans of everyone from Bob Dylan to Lord Huron or Big Thief will find something

to love in Haywire‘s eclectic tapestry. An effortlessly enchanting, organic, and honest listen".


 — Atwood Magazine


"..familiar without being overly lights a spark in the dark corners of your soul". 

-Indie Shuffle

          Duff Thompson is a songwriter, musician, and producer whose music is a swampy blend of folk, pop, and garage rock. As a songwriter, he has a rare ability to distill emotional complexity into simple, sincere songs that instantly hit the listener on a visceral level. As a producer, he draws from influences that span across decades and genres, merging them into a cohesive and organic sound recognizable as his own.

Thompson's latest work is a dark, alienated, and swaggering duology of albums titled Shadow People and Shadow People II. Created over two weeks of intensive recording during a Montreal heatwave in 2021, the Shadow People series comprise 19 total tracks split across two albums. Thompson rented out the studio space at Sud-Ouest Recording Service and produced and engineered the recordings himself, bringing along with him a 16-track reel-to-reel and songwriter/musicians Steph Green (drums, lap steel, pump organ, vocals) and Kyle Taylor (drums, piano, vocals) as his backing band and assistant engineers. The records also feature contributions from Mat Davidson (Twain) on strings, pedal steel, and bass clarinet. Whereas Thompson’s 2020 debut album, Haywire showcased his versatility and folk influences, Shadow People and Shadow People II are a more cohesive collection of songs that push his music further into the world of garage and indie rock. Shadow People was released on October 27th, 2023 and immediately followed by a 21 date co-headlining, North American tour with Steph Green. Shadow People II is set for release June 28th on Mashed Potato Records.

bottom of page